You are here: AU  Staff  International Academic Staff (IAS) Contact Foulum Help Desk News and Events Meet the Danes/Internationals

Meet the Danes/Internationals

In Spring 2014 DCA and International helpdesk established the event "Meet the Danes", which means you can sign up as host for an international student for a short or long period and the international student can sign up to visit Danish host families.

We now want to relaunch this event and make a new procedure for how to sign up for this. We believe that the new procedure will make everybody feel more comfortable and it will allow us to see how frequently this event is used.

The intention is to invite international employees to visit Danish families, to welcome them to a typical Danish home and strengthen the relations between the Danes and our international colleagues. The visits should be quite simple – invite the students and or employees for a coffee or tea, or for dinner if you like. In Winter it could be for gløgg (a Scandinavian Christmas punch) and æbleskiver (Danish doughnuts) and in Summer maybe to celebrate Midsummer’s Eve. Or if you are interested in gardens show them your garden or your farm. There are many ideas and occasions, and the general idea is to keep it simple in order for both the Danish families and the internationals to arrange it.

New name and new procedure: Meet the Danes/Internationals

Host families: please send an e-mail to Helle Karvonen, hk@au.dk if you are interested in being a host family and mention a little about your family and if you have any conditions.

Internationals: please send an e-mail to Helle Karvonen, hk@au.dk if you want to visit a Danish family, please tell a little about yourself and if you have any conditions.

Once Helle receives an e-mail from students, she will contact a relevant host family to make the match. Next the host family will contact the student to make further arrangements.

For both internationals and host families: if you do not want to be a part of the "Meet the Danes/Internationals" programme please send an e-mail to hk@au.dk to let me know.   

The above information is included as an enclosure to the folder "Welcome to Foulum".

HOSTS

First name Surname E-mail Department Conditions
Nina Christiansen  nina.katborg@agrsci.dk AGRO We are a family of four living in a small cozy country house app. 30 km from Foulum near Hjarbaek Fjord. The children are, respectively, a girl of 8 and a boy of 4. We would be happy to share a bit of our Danish culture with others and would also be happy to learn a little about your culture. We look forward to hearing from you. Best regards Martin, Björk, Storm and Nina
Pernille Sarup  pernille.sarup@biology.au.dk MBG We have a dog - "Springerspaniel"
Wossenie Mebratie  wossenie.mebratie@agrsci.dk MBG I am a student form Ethiopia and I only speak English
Nuria Canibe Nuria.Canibe@agrsci.dk ANIS None
Kaj Ole Dideriksen kaj.dideriksen@agrsci.dk FOOD None
Lisha Xiang xianglisha12@hotmail.com I would very much like to practice my Danish
Claus Bo Andreasen clausbo.andreasen@agrsci.dk DCA None
Inger Anneberg Inger.Anneberg@agrsci.dk  
I Work in Department of Animal Science in Foulum. Me and my husband live South from Århus in Odder, so a person WHO would like to visit us need to know that we live away from Foulum (110 km South) I can take the person to our house in my car if the visit is a day where I am going home after Work. IN the weekend a person can easily take a local train to Odder (Grenå-Odder banen) but I can inform about that. We have three children but they are grown up today and living in Copenhagen ,. We are 57 and 61 years old. best wishes Inger  anneberg
 
Ditte S. Gundelund Nielsen Ditte.Nielsen@agrsci.dk ANIS We are a family of three living in Aarhus
Jan Værum Nørgaard jan.noergaard@agrsci.dk ANIS  
We have 3 kids with age 4 (boy), 7 (boy) and 9 (girl)
 
Anna Busch Nielsen annab.nielsen@agrsci.dk AU COM.  
I am employed in the communication unit. We live in Rebild close to Rebild Bakker (55 km from Foulum to the north). I live with my family: husband, 3 boys (17, 13 and 3), and 1 girl (2 years). If anyone (1 or more) is interested in visiting us, your are wellcome.
 
Poul Sørensen Poul.Sorensen@agrsci.dk MBG  
Preferable on saturday or sunday. We (my vife and me) speak english and is prepared to show our home.
 
Torben Bennedsgaard torbenw.bennedsgaard@anis.au.dk ANIS We are two adults in the mid-forties with two children a 17 year old boy and a 15 year old daughter. We are both veterinarians working with research and with slaughterhouse hygiene. We live in a house in Ørum and are open to visits from anybody.
Prashanth Suravajhala prash@mbg.au.dk MBG

We'd be interested to host a family preferably for one night starting with a friday dinner until Saturday afternoon lunch. 

We are vegetarians and an Indian couple with two children aged 8 and 3 years old

INTERNATIONALS

First name Surname E-mail Department Conditions
  
Seyda Ozkan  seydaozkan82@gmail.com AGRO
Wossenie Mebratie  wossenie.mebratie@agrsci.dk MBG I am a student from Ethiopia and I only speak English
Gedrime Kusliene  gedrime.kusliene@agrsci.dk AGRO
Xiangyu Guo xiangyu.guo@agrsci.dk MBG
Emmanuel Arthur emmanuel.arthur@agrsci.dk AGRO We are a couple and have a 3 year old son
Gedrime Kusliene gedrime.kusliene@agrsci.dk  AGRO  
 
Jose Gil josef.gil@agrsci.dk AGRO  
I would prefer to visit farms
 
Lisha Xiang xianglisha12@hotmail.com Spouse  
I would very much like to practice my Danish
 
Siwi Gayatri siwi.gayatri@agrsci.dk ANIS None
Fatemeh Hashemi fatemeh.hashemi@agrsci.dk AGRO My husband will accompany me